I Will Give Him Back

I hover.  I control.  I hold on.  I worry.  When I know God’s Word says, rest, give up, let go, do not be anxious about tomorrow.  Why do I still wrestle with this?  I know God is sovereign. Yet, I still wake up at 2:30 am fretting.  This particular morning it happens to be about my children.

In the early hours of the morning, the Lord brought to my mind Hannah.  So this morning, I left Isaiah for a bit and flipped back to 1 Samuel 1 & 2.

She ached for a child.  She wept and prayed before the Lord.  Hannah was so distressed (worrisome) that the priest, Eli, thought she was drunk.  Hannah, just like us worried but she prayed earnestly.  “O Lord of hosts, if you will indeed look on the affliction of your servant and remember me and not forget your servant, but will give to your servant a son, then I will give him to the Lord all the days of his life.”  1 Samuel 1:11

Then she worshiped the Lord.

God heard.  God answered.  Samuel, one of Israel’s greatest prophets was born.  A little later, Hannah shows much trust and obedience.  She returns to the Tabernacle and says to Eli, “Sir, do you remember me?  I am the very woman who stood here several years ago praying to the Lord.  I asked the Lord to give me this boy, and he has granted my request.  Now I am giving him to the Lord, and he will belong to the Lord his whole life.”  1 Samuel 1:26-28

Although I am a little sleepy eyed this morning, I am grateful that the Holy Spirit awoke my mind and heart to Truth this morning.  Thank you for Hannah’s story and thank you for helping me remember my own redemptive story.

God has answered my earnest prayer for children just as He did Hannah.  My husband and I have dedicated both of them to the Lord.  I can confidently give them to the Lord all the days of their life.  He will care for them.  Even when life doesn’t play out for them as I envisioned, may I be quick to remember Your plans are so much greater than anything I could dream up.  Truth is hung all throughout our home to help us remember God’s goodness.  Maybe while picking up dirty clothes in their rooms, I should stop, read and remember God’s promises.

IMG_6128

Gracious Father, may we remember and rest in your goodness.  When we begin to fret over our children, help us be confident in your sovereignty and know your plans are always better. Show us how to give our children fully and freely back to You, just as Hannah did.

Leave a Reply

